Philosophy over coffee

Dawg

In Interesting, Size: Grande on October 20, 2008 at 2:45 am

I can’t remember exactly when I started adoring dogs. Having lived with one for the past 2 months certainly helped. Although it is partly offset by the fact that the dog isn’t as smart as I wanted it to be. It’s not mine; it’s my aunt’s. It is turning three. Apparently the only thing the dog knows is to pee and poop on the grass, except during those times when he can’t hold it anymore. The only words he recognizes are “food” and “go out”. Give him a command and all you get is a blank stare. Now that assures I’m not getting that breed of dog. If I were to get one, here are my options:

  • Siberian Husky- they could look evil but they could also look VERY awesome.
  • Yorkshire Terrier- their hair is hypo-allergenic.
  • Morkie (a mix between Yorkshire and Maltese and it is darn cute, but darn expensive too. One I saw in CA was at $999 and the one I saw in IL was, get this, $1500. Bloody hell.)
  • Labrador Retriever- the golden one, color-wise. lol.
  • Perhaps a miniature schnauzer would also do but it’s at the bottom of my list.

My interest led me to research on the smartest dogs (having seen the difference between the dog at home, a Boston Terrier, and my cousin’s, a border collie). No surprise that collies are on the top of smartest dogs list. Here’s the entire list:

10. Australian Cattle Dog

9. Rottweiler

8. Papillon-they look cute.

7. Labrador Retriever

6. Shetland Sheepdog-I don’t like how they’re partly called ‘shet’.

5. Doberman Pinscher

4. Golden Retriever- Sheds a lot.

3. German Shepherd- it might eat me alive so I’ll pass.

2. Poodle- I’ve always been biased against them. I think they’re ugly.

1. Border Collie- if only they didn’t shed a lot.

And if you hate stupid ones like me, then stay away from these:

10. Basset Hound- we used to own one back home. It wasn’t as dumb, it just grew so big/fat.

9. Beagle-now I don’t like it.

8. Mastiff

7. Pekingese

6. Bloodhound

5. Borzoi

4. Chow Chow

3. Bulldog

2. Basenji

1. Afghan hound

Leave a Reply

