Philosophy over coffee

MovieMania: Feels Like Heaven!

In Interesting, Size: Grande on August 2, 2008 at 10:21 pm

I couldn’t be amazed enough at how addicted I got to watching movies. Ever since I (almost) finished school last week, I’ve already seen more than 10 movies…in a span of about 6 days in fact. More than half of them are classics- and I mean those that were made decades ago. I CANNOT stop watching movies anymore! I am definitely putting the blame on my roommate who’s doing (or just finished) a film summer program at USC. Whenever free, he pretty much just hangs out in the living room, enjoying a movie or two. There was even a time he did some serious movie marathon- starting at around 9 or 10 at night and ending at around 2-3pm the following day; he was still up when I came back from school. I joined him in several occasions but I actually can’t remember the first classic film that I joined him in watching. I can only remember one called Walked with Ed Harris in it. In no particular order, here are the movies I’ve seen the past several days:

  • Casablanca (1942)
  • Notorious (1946)
  • Rope (1948 )
  • Rashomon (1950)
  • Vertigo (1958 )
  • Yojimbo (1961)
  • 8 1/2 (1963)
  • Repulsion (1965)
  • Le Samourai (1967)
  • Army of Shadows (1969)
  • A Clockwork Orange (1971)
  • What’s Eating Gilbert Grape (1993) – Leo DiCaprio was brilliant, and I mean BRILLIANT in this film.
  • The Rock (1996) – Yes, just last night… Say no more.
  • L’Auberge Espagnole (2003) – Not a classic but a fun flick
  • Children of Men (2006)
  • The Devil Wears Prada – I already saw this weeks ago, but as I was trying to chill one night, I decided to give it a go again
  • Atonement (finally completing it after I fell asleep while watching it on the plane)
  • Step Up 2 (apparently not one of the classics)

I have some more I’ve already downloaded and are waiting to be seen:

  • Rope (1948 )
  • Rashomon (1950)
  • To Kill A Mockingbird (1962)
  • Repulsion (1965)
  • Chinatown (1974)

Vertigo and Notorious are both Alfred Hitchcock films. I never really saw any of his flicks until I saw Notorious the other night. And now I am contemplating buying a 15-disc DVD set of his greatest movies, which include 2 more I am thinking about downloading- Rope and The Birds, perhaps to help me decide whether I should get it or not.

My roommate Brian also introduced me to The Criterion Collection, a continuing series of important classic and contemporary films on DVD. Being a film freak himself, he apparently has some from that collection. Last night, I found myself going through the collection and the top 10s of some critics- until 6am. But the time and effort wasn’t in vain. Not that it’s bad but I found several other movies I want to buy and see:

  • M (1931)
  • Tokyo Story (1953)
  • Seven Samurai (1954)
  • The Leopard (1963)
  • The Shop on Main Street (1965)
  • The Honeymoon Killers (1970)

I love finally having the luxury of time to spend –THIS– much time on movies. Strangely (and maybe even sadly), I’ve seen about twice as many movies in the past week or so in the apartment than I have in the theaters all throughout my whole year stay here in LA.

So little time, so many movies to see. I. Am. Screwed.

Leave a Reply

