Philosophy over coffee

Whinging Statistics

In Life Matters, Size: Venti on June 14, 2008 at 3:59 am

I can sense the intense pressure creeping up my spine. In 2 months’ time, I will be done with school. Finally done with school. And it only points to one thing- getting a job. I came here in the States with so high hopes, with so much expectations. Even some air of arrogance, thinking it should be easy for me. After all, I am smart, pursuing my graduate degree, went to top-tier universities… how hard could it be? Well, it IS hard. I guess I am still to completely prove it. I can’t say that I have made a looot of applications. Some people I know have submitted 30-40 applications for an internship and got only a few call backs. I probably haven’t even sent out more than 15 applications total. Who am I to complain? I shouldn’t and cannot complain. It is partly something I realized recently (and as weird as it sounds to say this, I realized it after watching the movie ‘The Devil Wears Prada’). Whining does not get me anywhere, doing something does.

As frustrating as it may seem, receiving rejection emails, one at a time (sometimes two in a night), can and should only push me to do so much more than what I’ve done before. I am in no position to complain. I haven’t sent an application to all companies out there, have I? No. True, I have my own preferences of where I want to work, company-wise and geography-wise but if it means having to send multiple applications to the same firm for different positions just to gain entrance to that company, then why not? Maybe it is one way. Maybe it IS the way.

It is definitely the fear of becoming part of the statistics that’s bothering. With my so-called credentials, it is easy to think getting what I want should also come handy. I guess it is time I wake up from this fantasy. There are so many more qualified people than me out there. I may be qualified, but so are they. Even more so perhaps. But it doesn’t mean there’s nothing for me. We always hear people tell us, dream big. Perfectly understandable, perfectly true. But dreaming big does not mean getting there straight up. Knowing how to dream big is a means to an end. Not an end in itself. Setting one’s mind to get there doesn’t mean one step and you’re there. It doesn’t mean that after 1, 2 or 3 failed trials (or in my case applications) I’m done. It means I need to go do 4th, 5th, or 6th. Even more. It is tiring indeed and at times frustrating, depressing. But to be able to live our dreams is not to witness magic. Oftentimes, we have to get there bit by bit, with even more difficulties lurking around.

It does not come with a flicker. Rather it comes with effort, hope, and more effort. Whining just eats up our time. And if we don’t veer away from that, we’re just more likely to be part of the statistics.

  1. blame it on freeze-hiring.

Leave a Reply

